Laura Hemingway



Where do I come from?

I grew up in Forstinning, a village to the east of Munich. My family is half Lower-Bavarian and half English.

Why do I sing?

Singing brings me joy, gives me energy. It has always been a part of who I am.

And what do I like apart from singing?

Enjoying the great outdoors with my dog or in my vegetable garden, Cooking, Dancing, an evening spent among friends watching a movie or playing a board game.

My own personal musical highlight?

That was undoubtedly when I made my debut as Pamina in the University’s production of Mozart’s Magic Flute.

My motto?

‚Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.‘ - Albus Dumbledore


The German-British singer Laura Hemingway was born in Lüneburg in 1998 and grew up in Forstinning, a village near Munich. She sang in the Bavarian Youth Choir (Bayerische Landesjugendchor) and was a scholarship holder of the Bavarian Singing Academy (Bayerische Singakademie).

Laura Hemingway studied with KS Prof. Andreas Schmidt at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich. Having finished her bachelor’s degree in 2021, she now continues her studies with KS Prof. Christiane Iven doing her Master’s of Concert Singing. The singer started transitioning into the mezzo-soprano Fach in the summer of 2022.

She has been part of several opera productions within her studies such as „liminal space“, a world premier in cooperation with the „Munich Biennale“ and gave her role debuts as „Serpetta“ in „La Finta Giardiniera“ by W. A. Mozart and „Pamina“ in „Die Zauberflöte“.

The mezzo-soprano received musical impulses by Sabine Lahm, Fritz Schwinghammer and Chen Reiss.

In the field of Ensemble Singing Laura Hemingway was part of the opera „Die Vorübergehenden“ by Nikolaus Brass in the „Festspielwerkstatt“ of the Bavarian State Opera (conductor: Marie Jacquot). Furthermore she is a member of the chamber choir „LauschWerk“, conducted by Martin Steidler.

Since October 2021 she is a scholarship holder of the „Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes“.